One of the best investments of my time and effort would be the creation of a high-powered HD TV Antennna.

While the process appears intimidating, I assure you it's easier than it appears. I'll summarize the process in as easy a mannor as possible. First you buy stiff 10 gauge wire. I bought 10-3 for this at home depot by the roll. You then cut segments to 15" lengths and fold them in half to form a V. These "V"'s are called wing elements. These elements are attached to a backing, which I used electrical PVC piping.
 
The wing elements are spread apart roughly three inches from on another, in two vertical rows. Each row consists of four wing elements. The wing elements are then connected together with long copper wiring called " Phase Lines " I used the same wiring used for the Wing elements. At the end of the phase lines a connection piece for typical coaxial cable cord must be attached. The special connector is called a Balon. This can be found at RadioShack for a few dollars

For a reflector or a signal director, I used Garden Wire. The wire must not actually come in contact with the wing elements or phase lines. I simply attached it behind the mast which supported the structure.

The description I gave above is to create a DB4 Antenna. I myself doubled the above and created a DB8 Antenna. I receive roughly thirty stations all for free. Many of which I'm receiving from TV stations that are over 50 Miles away from me!

To find out what TV stations you should be able to get with your antenna visit:
http://www.TVFOOL.com

A great resource for more detailed plans can be found at:
 http://www.instructables.com/id/Build-a-Large-DB8-HDTV-Antenna-Big-Bertha/?ALLSTEPS





Leave a Reply.

    Author

    J. Bidwell is an average middle aged, middle classed man. This is an on going record of his venture to living sustainably while still maintaining the American Way of Living.

    Archives

    January 2014
    December 2013

    Categories

    All